John Willmott School

Curriculum Information

Please click on the links on the left for subject specific information

Curriculum Aims

  • To provide a broad and balanced, inclusive education that incorporates the National Curriculum which challenges students to reach their potential.
  • To support the needs of the individual according to the individual and personalised learning pathways.
  • To give pupils a firm basis for further and higher education, the world of work and life in modern society.
  • To promote the further development of generic skills such as literacy, numeracy, ICT and the confident use of new technologies
  • To help each student to develop independence in his/her learning and to foster thinking skills.  In addition to an academic curriculum, provide opportunities for work based or vocational education, to motivate and inspire students and thereby raise attainment.
  • To encourage intellectual development and the ability to discriminate through discussion, observation and argument and to develop skills in decision-making through problem solving and experimentation.
  • To develop in students a sense of their own worth and the capacity to live as independent, self-motivated adults.
  • To encourage the development of a reasoned set of values and beliefs and a respect for and tolerance of all religions, cultures and ways of life, in line with fundamental British Values
  • To encourage personal and social development and that of citizenship through an understanding of the world in which they live.
  • To enable pupils to acquire an appreciation of the creative arts and an understanding of human achievement.

 

 

Subject Contacts

Faculty    Head Of Faculty    Email Address
         
Communications   Mrs L Norton   l.norton@jws.bham.sch.uk
Mathematics   Mr C Mitchell   c.mitchell@jws.bham.sch.uk
Science   Mr E Du-Prat   e.du-prat@jws.bham.sch.uk
Humanities   Mrs H Khanom   h.khanom@jws.bham.sch.uk
BETS   Mrs L Barton   l.barton@jws.bham.sch.uk
Performing and Creative Arts   Miss S Evans   s.evans@jws.bham.sch.uk
DT   Mrs S Bowen   s.bowen@jws.bham.sch.uk
SEN / Inclusion   Mrs K McCarthy / Mrs S Vanalderwegen   k.mccarthy@jws.bham.sch.uk / s.vanalderwegen@jws.bham.sch.uk